Lauren Conrad – Style icon or fashion flop?

27 Oct

We girls here at Wardrobe like to keep our fingers firmly placed on the fashion pulse, but contrary to what you might think, we don’t just stand around  trying on clothes and looking in shop windows all day…

Oh no, we are actually rather intellectual. In fact just this week I myself purchased a book. But not just any book, no, it was a style guide from none other than LA’s favourite fashionista, Miss Lauren Conrad.

New book Style, out last week

We Wardrobe ladies have always loved Lauren’s MTV show The Hills, not just for the back stabbing (and most recently the plastic surgery), but also for the fashion.

Because of all the different characters in the show, from LC and Audrina to Lo and Stephanie, there are lots of different styles. And all the Hollywood parties they ‘have’ to go to, keeps them re-stocking and re-styling their wardrobes, meaning more ideas (and better viewing) for us.

Some of LC's latest looks

If you’re like me, you will have been wondering how the girls managed to wear a new outfit every time they were on-screen (I have trouble doing that five days a week just for work.)

Well, in Lauren’s new book,(following on from her inventive LA Candy series about a reality TV star in Hollywood, sound familiar?) she teaches you how to do just that.

Lauren looking lovely as she shows off her style inside the book

I know some of you might be wondering why I bothered spending my very hard-earned cash on a book written by a reality TV star, and believe me I did ask myself the same question. But, in my defence, I found it for £7 on Amazon, and I’m ashamed to say that I do really love LC. And having spent an hour reading through it (there are a lot of pictures) I have to say that it’s actually quite good.

Fashion fans will find it very informative, as there is a handy hint and tip for practically everything you’ll ever need, and The Hills fans will find it a great addition to their guilty pleasure collection.

And not only is there plenty of help to pick the perfect jeans, ideas to choose the best t-shirts and tips on how to shop vintage. There are also chapters on make-up for all occasions, how to get the most out of your jewellery and all importantly, hair. Style shows you how to create perfect pony’s, undone up do’s and how to get Lauren’s trademark tousled boho beach vibe.

Lauren's trademark loose curls and California glow

Rocking vintage hair and red lips for a more grown up look

 All in all it’s not going to win a Pulitzer Prize any time soon, but I think Lauren’s 15 minutes of fame has helped her to collect a fair few items of clothing, so why not share with the world how she wears them?

I’ll definitely be using some of the handy hints she gives in the book, such as collecting staple pieces and customising clothes I already have, so for me it was a £7 well spent.

Have you brought Lauren’s book? What do you think of her style?

Steph

11 Responses to “Lauren Conrad – Style icon or fashion flop?”

  1. Sherin October 28, 2010 at 7:10 am #

    Thanks for the review! I wanted to buy it but thought it’d be a waste of money. But I may get it now.

    I’m a huge LC fan, and she’s definitely a style icon of mine.

    • wardrobemag October 28, 2010 at 9:35 pm #

      Me too : ) I think if you’re a fan, it’s definitely worth buying, even if it’s just for the pictures.
      There are some good points in there as well though, especially to do with shopping for clothes.
      But if you are going to get it don’t pay the £14.99 rrp. Go to on Amazon or somewhere like that!
      Steph x

  2. wardrobemag October 28, 2010 at 9:27 am #

    Haha Steph if it’s any consolation to you… I bought Coleens Real Style *ashamed face* when it came out. I don’t even know why, I hate her husband but I do love reading about clothes lol. And plus LC is waaaaaaaay better than Mrs Rooney!

    You will have to lend me this book. Does it have anything on how she does her makeup? I want my eye makeup to look like hers, jealous!

    Sunny x

    • wardrobemag October 28, 2010 at 9:19 pm #

      Yeah there’s loads of make-up stuff in. Not soooo much about eyes because she claims she doesn’t wear eyeshadow. But it does show you how to do fake eyelashes and stuff like that.
      I want to be her friend!
      Steph x

      • wardrobemag October 28, 2010 at 9:20 pm #

        Oh and Coleen Rooney? Sundip Gill! *disappointed face* Lol!

  3. wardrobemag October 28, 2010 at 11:44 am #

    Haha as soon as I saw this post I knew it would be by you Steph! I heart LC, I may have to borrow the book to get her hair tips!

    Chloe x

  4. selfserviceuk October 28, 2010 at 3:34 pm #

    We love a bit of LC, and loved some of the looks in the book, but why does she tilt her head to the left so much in *every* picture. She doesn’t do it on the red carpet, we were very puzzled! SSx

    • wardrobemag October 28, 2010 at 6:23 pm #

      Maybe her neck hurt so she had to keep it like that..?!

      I like LC, I don’t think she ever tries too hard. Will definitely have to steal this book after Chloe does!

      Bhav xx

      • wardrobemag October 28, 2010 at 9:17 pm #

        She does look to the side an awful lot. She’s worse than my dog when he’s a bit confused. Weird!
        But I heart her so I just had to buy it and yes you can all borrow it!
        Steph x

  5. Kelly November 2, 2010 at 10:17 pm #

    I wanna read it now haha xx

    • wardrobemag November 2, 2010 at 10:59 pm #

      I’ll bring it in tomorrow and then you can! X

Leave a comment